From The Stacks

Just another blogs.bellevuerporter.com weblog

  • Comments

If You Liked The Thirteenth Tale…

December 5th, 2012 at Wed, 5th, 2012 at 2:36 pm by Meredith

Unsettling, Gothic, mysterious, layered stories can be some of the most delectable. The Thirteenth Tale by Dianne Setterfield is a fine example of just such a story. But if you’ve already had the chance to read her tale of a reclusive author finally revealing her murky and fascinating past, complete with creepy twins, a crumbling mansion, and secrets destroyed by fire, here are some suggestions to keep the shivers coming.

The Distant Hours by Kate Morton
A long lost letter arrives in the post and Edie Burchill finds herself on a journey to Milderhurst Castle, a great but moldering old house, where the Blythe spinsters live and where her mother was billeted 50 years before as a 13 year old child during WW II. The elder Blythe sisters are twins and have spent most of their lives looking after the third and youngest sister, Juniper, who hasn’t been the same since her fiancé jilted her in 1941.

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
A boy named Daniel selects a novel from a library of rare books, enjoying it so much that he searches for the rest of the author’s works, only to discover that someone is destroying every book the author has ever written.

The Quincunx by Charles Palliser
This meditation on the Victorian novel and sprawling epic tale of a man’s quest for his identity follows John as he journeys to the heart of the Quincunx to reveal his elusive past. A plot within a plot within a plot of family secrets, mysterious clues, low-born birth, high-reaching immorality, and, always the fog-enshrouded, enigmatic character of 19th century London itself.

Bellefleur by Joyce Carol Oates
Portrays six generations of eccentric characters, all part of the wealthy and notorious Bellefleur clan, as they are affected by historical events such as the War of 1812 and Lincoln’s assassination.

Ex-Libris by Ross King
A cryptic summons to a remote country house launches Isaac Inchbold, a London bookseller and antiquarian, on an odyssey through seventeenth-century Europe, charged with the task of restoring a magnificent library destroyed by the war. Moving between Prague and the Tower Bridge, Inchbold’s fortunes , and his very life, hang on recovering a missing manuscript, but the lost volume is not what it seems, and his search is but a move in a treacherous game of underworld spies and smugglers, ciphers and forgeries.

Ghost Writer by John Harwood
Plagued with unpleasant memories of his mother’s death, shy Gerard Freeman is obsessed with the manuscript of a century-old ghost story written by his great-grandmother and entrusted to his care.

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier
A classic novel of romantic suspense finds the second Mrs. Maxim de Winter entering the home of her mysterious and enigmatic new husband and learning the story of the house’s first mistress, to whom the sinister housekeeper is unnaturally devoted.

The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters
After being summoned to treat a patient at dilapidated Hundreds Hall, Dr. Faraday finds himself becoming entangled in the lives of the owners, the Ayres family, and the supernatural presences in the house.

More articles by  >
ABOUT COMMUNITY BLOGS: Community blogs are written by volunteers. They are members of our community but not employees of this site or newspaper. They have applied or were invited to blog here but their words are their own and are not edited by the editor or staff of this site, and have agreed to abide by our Terms of Use. The authors are solely responsible for their content. If you have concerns about something you read on a community blog, please contact the author directly or email us.

COMMENTING RULES: We encourage an open exchange of ideas in the PNWLocalNews.com community, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. In a nutshell, don't say anything you wouldn't want your mother to read.

So keep your comments:

  • Civil
  • Smart
  • On-topic
  • Free of profanity

We ask that all participants own their words by logging in with their Facebook account. It's a simple process that will take seconds and helps keep our comments free of trolls, cranks, and “drive-by” commenters. We reserve the right to remove comments from anyone using screen names, pseudonyms or false identities. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.